Skip to content Skip to footer
Town Hall, 333 Bay Street, Port Melbourne
Town Hall, 333 Bay Street, Port Melbourne

The electorate of Melbourne Ports

Existing since Federation, Melbourne Ports has been held by the Labor Party since 1906 and has had only five members in 107 years since.

Former members of the seat were

Jim Matthews 1906 – 1931
E J Holloway 1931 – 1951
Frank Crean 1951 – 1977
Clyde Holding 1977 – 1998
Michael Danby since 1998


Postscript: On 5 July 2018, Michael Danby announced he would not contest the seat of Macnamara (the re-named Melbourne Ports) at the 2019 federal election.

Source:  ABC, Anthony Green’s Election Guide 

Leave a comment

PMHPS acknowledges the generous support of the City of Port Phillip.


The content of this site (images and text) must not be reproduced in any form without the prior consent of PMHPS or the copyright holder.

Acknowledgement of Traditional Custodians

We respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we meet and work, the Bunurong Boon Wurrung and Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung peoples of the Eastern Kulin Nation and pay respect to their Elders past, present and emerging.