A corner shop
116 Farrell Street, Port Melbourne
The house on the corner north-west of Ross Street and Farrell Street was once occupied by a small shop and residence. Perhaps the light cream brick cladding on the building in 2016 could have been placed over the original weatherboard shop, or perhaps the shop was demolished and this small brick house built on the site in the 1960s.
The shop was first occupied in 1898 or 1899 by a butcher, Alexander Brownlie. For a very short time in 1903-4 it was occupied by Henry Chrimes, the first member of the Chrimes family to live in Port Melbourne. Henry migrated from England and married Catherine Ryan. They had three children: Michael Joseph, Jane Isobel and Thomas. Their sons Michael Joseph and Thomas both lived in various houses in Port Melbourne, and their children also.
Between 1904 and 1913 various bakers operated their business from this shop. From 1916 to 1930 it was run as a pastry shop, general store or confectioners by various occupiers.
In 1931 Jack Baker opened a general store there and operated it with his wife and family. After his death the family continued to keep the shop until 1955. From then until our record ends in 1961 it was a confectioners.
From 1905 it was owned by William Campbell who ran a business there described as baker/gilder, but only for 2-3 years. His wife, Mrs E.E. Campbell was still the owner in 1960.
This account of the various owners and tenants of 116 Farrell St was researched by Margaret and Graham Bride with David Thompson for History of a Street Precinct: the area bounded by Evans, Farrell, Williamstown and Bridge Streets in Port Melbourne. You can explore the history of every house in the precinct by following the links on the project’s webpage.