Skip to content Skip to footer
Town Hall, 333 Bay Street, Port Melbourne
Town Hall, 333 Bay Street, Port Melbourne

New Electoral Structure for 2016 Council Elections

The name Sandridge is to disappear and Port Melbourne will be incorporated in a new Gateway Ward in new electoral arrangements for Port Phillip

Following the recommendations of a review completed in 2015 by the Victorian Electoral Commission, the electoral structure of Port Phillip has been changed.

Changes to the current electoral structure will take effect at the next Port Phillip council elections in October 2016.

Nine councillors will be elected for Port Phillip from three, three councillor wards.

Instead of Port Melbourne being represented by a single councillor, Port Melbourne will be subsumed in a much larger area which will be represented by three councillors.

VEC map of recommended options

The Port Melbourne Historical and Preservation Society argued strenuously for Port Melbourne to continue to be represented by a single councillor.

The Port Phillip Council also argued in favour of continuing with 7 councillors representing the 7 wards but also recognised the need for more councillors given the complexity of issues coming before the Council.

The name Sandridge will disappear.

The new super-ward will be called Gateway. As the map above shows, it will include South Melbourne, Kingsway and Queens Road.

Leave a comment

PMHPS acknowledges the generous support of the City of Port Phillip.


The content of this site (images and text) must not be reproduced in any form without the prior consent of PMHPS or the copyright holder.

Acknowledgement of Traditional Custodians

We respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we meet and work, the Bunurong Boon Wurrung and Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung peoples of the Eastern Kulin Nation and pay respect to their Elders past, present and emerging.